TAC Cup wrap: Round 11 Country round


Bendigo Pioneers 7.6 (48) defeated by Gippsland Power 11.16 (82)


Bendigo: S.Ayre 2, J.Brain 2, F.Payne , L.Ryan , C.Barrett
Gippsland: A.Ferreira 3, T.Papley 2, N.Holmes, A.Carr, S.Skinner, A.Di Ciero, B. Olsson, D.Keilty


Bendigo: T.Cole, L.Ryan, H.Conway, J.Marciano, C.Barrett, S.Harper
Gippsland: N.Argento, J.Hammond, A.Ferreira, T.Marsh, A.Di Ciero, J. Patullo

Gippsland Power recorded their second win of the season against a disappointing Bendigo Pioneers outfit at Preston City Oval on Saturday. After opening the first term kicking six behinds straight, the Power booted two late goals courtesy of Bradley Olsson and Aloysio Ferreira, to take a two goal lead into quarter time. Ferreira was dangerous up forward all day for Gippsland, and was rewarded for his efforts as he kicked a team high three goals in the win. The Pioneers got control of the game in the second quarter but couldn’t capitalise on all of their possession, and only held a one point lead at half time.

The game was sloppy for most of the first half and that trend continued throughout the match, but the Power had just managed to get on top of Bendigo in the third quarter and kicked three goals to one to give them a handy 15 point lead heading into the final term. Cameron Barrett was the shining light for Bendigo but needed more help from his fellow midfielders as the Power started to pull away towards the end of the last quarter. Back to back goals from Tom Papley put the margin beyond doubt and handed the Power the four points, as they comfortably ran out 34 point winners in the end.

BFGN Rising Stars Medal:

5: Cameron Barrett (Bendigo Pioneers)
4: Jack Hammond (Gippsland Power)
3: Tate Marsh (Gippsland Power)
2: Thomas Cole (Bendigo Pioneers)
1: Aloysio Ferreira (Gippsland Power)


Geelong Falcons 12.7 (79) defeated Murray Bushrangers 6.11 (47)


Geelong: S.Dixon 3, P.Bright2, L.Wagener 2, B.Warren 2, D.Bond, M.Augerinos, B.Beardsell
Murray:  N.Drummond 2, J.Schache 2, M.Waite , M.Reidy


Geelong:  W.Sexton, B.Remmos, H.Kol, M.Augerinos, H.Smith, J.Syddall
Murray:  N.Mellington, D.Mennen, N.Drummond, M.Waite, T.Holman, J.Marshall

Ten minutes was all it took for the Geelong Falcons to break away from the Murray Bushrangers in an entertaining and tight clash at Highgate. The first half was an arm wrestle, as both teams struggled to convert their opportunities and the Falcons went into half time with a narrow one point lead.

However the third term belonged to the Falcons as they kicked five goals in a burst of activity that blew the decimated Murray side away. The Bushrangers were without half a dozen of their best players who were on state duty with NSW/ACT while Dan Howe and Nathan Drummond didn’t last the whole game after picking up injuries. In the end it was the blistering third term from the Falcons which won them the game as the last quarter was as tight as the first two.

BFGN Rising Stars Medal:

5: Harrison Kol (Geelong Falcons)
4: Nick Mellington (Murray Bushrangers)
3: Max Augerinos (Geelong Falcons)
2: Hayden Smith (Geelong Falcons)
1: David Mennen (Murray Bushrangers)


North Ballarat Rebels 13.8 (86) defeated Dandenong Stingrays 6.6 (42)


North Ballarat: M.Johnston 4, J.Palmer 3, K.Mellington, R.Marshall, K.Mason, T.Taurau, J.Cowan, O. McDonald 
Dandenong: T.Joyce 5, L.Williams


North Ballarat: J.Webster, J.O’Beirne, J.Palmer, M.Johnston, J.Hopper, K.Mason
Dandenong: T.Joyce, A.Harnett, D.Kempster, S.Geurts, M.Homfray, L.Williams

Dandenong travelled down to Eureka Stadium to attempt to stop North Ballarat’s five game winning streak but they failed, as the Rebels marched to a decisive 44 point win. The Rebels were clearly the better side all day and were never headed, extending on their lead each quarter.

The Stingrays were hindered by their lack of targets up forward, as Taylor Joyce dominated with five goals but they were too predictable and had no other reliable options going forward. Jess Palmer was his usual reliable self at the other end, snagging three goals while Matt Johnston kicked four. The usual suspects stood up for the Rebels as Josh Webster and Jacob O’Beirne played well in the middle, whilst Alex Harnett played a lone hand in the centre for the Stingrays.

BFGN Rising Stars Medal:

5: Jacob O’Beirne (North Ballarat Rebels)
4: Taylor Joyce (Dandenong Stingrays)
3: Josh Webster (North Ballarat Rebels)
2: Jesse Palmer (North Ballarat Rebels)
1: Alex Harnett (Dandenong Stingrays)

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *